DISTANCES

Out of sight, yet not out of mind. Whatever happened to the old school romance?! Where you could have stayed far and still content with the hope of meeting again. Where long distances didn’t give people jitters. Where arrival of a letter from your loved one paced your heart beat. Where trust was never an issue. Where love was expressed through gestures and not pontifical social media posts. I suppose deep inside everyone craves for simplicity. Atleast I do. I am a sucker for those genuine smiles, timid eye contacts and heartfelt words. Distances don’t scare me, detachment does. I wonder why am I thinking of all this now. Or writing about it. I wonder how many stories have been left unfinished or got ended due to this stupid stupid modern times relationship rulebook. I wonder how many stories still wander around and wish if distances couldn’t have played the villain role in them..#in a pensive mood.

10 thoughts on “DISTANCES

  1. I’m exactly like you, which is why distance never bothered me. But the out of sight, out of mind is unfortunately true. there is just so much time one can spend in a long distance relationship.

    And the painful part is that knowingly or unknowingly, you move away from that person, telephone calls get shorter, message become a thing of the past, skype may work, but all in all, it is very difficult.

    I have been there and done that, which is why I do not advise long distance relationships, unless both the parties concerned are really serious about each other and ready to take up a commitment that will require you to keep some time apart every weak. Plus for the ones who don’t like talking on call, god help! And the insecurities that creep in make it just not worth all the pain..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The term LDR reminded me of my very first post on my blog. Tough job to be in or total waste of time as I finally concluded. Every one possesses different perspective but I guess wise would be not to get involved in LDR. Agree to what ‘story teller’ has said. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

