Linger On

I have decided.
I won’t let you slide away the memory lane with few tears in my eyes,
few shoulders to lean on,
few sad songs to relate to,
and there, gone.
I will preserve your nuances like I have treasured my childhood story books.
I will savour our moments like I remember dialogues from my favorite movie ever.
I will relish your kisses like I distinctly recognize my most delectable chocolate flavour.
I will miss your warmth like I yearn for some heat on a chilly, chilly winter evening.
I will smile at your thoughts, how a child smiles gazing at the rainbow.
I will memorize you like the lyrics of a beautiful poignant song.
I will wear your fragrance like a flower carries its own.
I will laugh at your silliness, how I laugh when I trip.
I will sob that you are gone, how I sob over mushy scenes, with a handkerchief over my nose.
I will fancy doing vile things to you because when has moth ever stopped lusting the flame.
I will be there, how the dawn never disappoints dusk, not one day.
I will imbibe you such, that the difference cannot be told.
There will be you,
and there will be I,
but there will be a tad bit of you in me,
from now on, till the end of time.

26 thoughts on “Linger On

  1. NJ says:

    Beautiful 🙂 You know I once saw a movie Before Sunrise 🙂 in that movie the actress says “Every one you meet and fall in love with ..leaves a peace of themselves in you and you can never erase it” ..Your poem had just justified this line 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “There will be you,
    and there will be I,
    but there will be a tad bit of you in me,
    from now on, till the end of time.”

    Could relate to it very closely and deeply. Loved these lines. Amazingly awesome. Very well written.

    Reblogging it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

