Spell-check

Do you have a friend who corrects every word you misspell? And cringes on every wrong pronunciation you make? Like their only purpose to be alive in this ever-so-happening world, is to pin point at your petty lingual mistakes. In that moment you want to kill them. Choke them around the neck and kill them! But then they happen to be right and you make a dorky face and let it pass! Do you have such friend or am I the only one doomed? Words like poignant, petulant, nonchalant, bourgeois….I would have never known how these words are spoken(rightly) if not for this nemesis cum friend. I am seeing her tomorrow after quite a few days. Looking forward to the trouble. :-). <3.

47 thoughts on “Spell-check

  1. I’m fine with bowing to people with gooder grammar than me. Saym wet speling. They’re called editors, and they make me sounder smarter than I am. 😀 Plus, sometimes, I learn sumpin’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Having your pronunciation or your grammar corrected is okay if it’s done discreetly and without that jarring air of “superiority.” I once mispronounced the word “pariah.” I said something like pa ree ah. The friend I happened to be with burst out laughing. Oh you mean pa ri ah. Then he made some crappy remark. I avoided him for a good while after that, but to tell the truth, I started using my dictionary more! And we’re still friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am forever pronouncing words wrong….my daughter just hugs me and corrects me nicely…I normally say, sorry about the pronunciation of the word but its the best I can do…and I don’t let it bother me….its all on them if it bothers them…I told them I have trouble…LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • haha…yes I see your point clearly. And you don’t have to be sorry…it is because of your kind, our kind speaks writes whispers correctly..:D from the fear or caution or respect! Together we can dwell on literature in peace..:-)!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

